Latest News

Lucia B. Rothman-Denes, PhD, Professor of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology has been elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Rothman-Denes is best known for pioneering work on how viruses take over the molecular processes of their hosts. 

Joseph Piccirilli, PhD, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Jonathan Staley, PhD, Professor of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology received the Distinguished Investigator Award for outstanding achievement in research.

Yoav Gilad, PhD, Professor of Human Genetics named Chairman of the Committee on Genetics, Genomics and Systems Biology.

Pew Scholar: Michael Rust, PhD (Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology). Rust was named one of 22 Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences by The Pew Charitable Trust.

Abraham Palmer, PhD, Associate Professor of Human Genetics, was awarded a five-year, $12.6 million P50 grant from the NIH/NIDA for his project, “Integrated GWAS of Complex Behavioral and Gene Expression Traits in Outbred Rats.”

Nancy Schwartz, PhD, Professor of Pediatrics, and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, was awarded a five-year, $4.5 million training grant from the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development to fund the Growth, Development and Disabilities Training Program (GDDTP) for MD/PhD students.

Ziyue Gao (Genetics, Genomics and Systems Biology) is the recipient of the 2014-15 William Rainey Harper Fellowship, one of the University of Chicago’s highest honors, given in recognition of a record of Achievement and professional promise. 

The 2014 BSD Best Dissertation award is shared by Sebastian Fica (Cell & Molecular Biology) and Sophie McCoy (Ecology & Evolution).